Nixon and Robinson head all-conference squad

Nixon and Robinson head all-conference squad

The Pacific Coast Athletic Conference regular season came to a close last week, which means it was time for the coaches to get together and determine the all-conference team.  Southwestern College's Gertrude "Trudie" Nixon and College of the Desert's Lauren Robinson headlined the team while Palomar College's Lacy Craft headlined the coaches.

Nixon was named the Pitcher-of-the-Year while Robinson was named the Player-of-the-year for 2019.  In addition, Palomar coach Lacey Craft was named Coach-of-the-Year after her Comets finished 15-1 in Pacific Coast Athletic Conference play and now enter the playoffs as the No. 3 seed in Southern California.

Nixon had a sensational season for Southwestern, finishing 24-10 with a 1.82 ERA.  She was even better in conference play, going 13-2 with a 1.01 ERA and 10 complete games.  Nixon had 101 strikeouts during the course of the season, starting 36-of-39 games for the Jaguars.  Her biggest game of the season came on February 8 when she threw the programs first-ever no-hitter against Santa Ana. 

Robinson was a hitting machine for Desert, batting .536 for the season with a .600 on-base percentage and a .866 slugging percentage.  In addition to her exploits at the plate, Robinson started 21 games on the mound for the Roadrunners.  She had hits in 17 of the final 18 games for Desert and had 14 multiple-hit games.  Robinson had a three-game stretch in mid-April where she went 8-for-9 with 10 RBI against Mt. San Jacinto College and San Bernardino Valley College, and once recorded six RBI against Barstow in late March. 

Craft took over the Palomar program in 2011 and won her seventh straight Pacific Coast Athletic Conference title this season.  The Comets finished the regular season 33-5 overall and 15-1 in PCAC play.  They enter the CCCAA playoffs this week as the No. 3 seed in Southern California, winning their last 15 games of the season.  In their season-ending hot streak, they went 8-0 in PCAC play and 7-0 outside the conference, beating top-seeded Mt. San Antonio College once and No. 2 seed Cypress College twice.  The Comets will open the playoffs with a three-game series against Citrus College on Friday.


Player School Position
Lauren Robinson Desert UTL
Gertrude Nixon Southwestern P
Sarah Fisher Palomar IF
Megan Wachholtz Palomar OF
Erika Anders Southwestern IF
Kylie Pignone Palomar OF
Kaleigh Lane San Diego Mesa OF
Allie Hughen Palomar P/IF
Vanessa Tirado San Diego City IF
Kendall Kates Palomar C
Cassie Van Til Southwestern UTL
Samantha Renteria Palomar OF
Sabrina Figueroa San Diego City P
Victoria Martinez Imperial Valley C



Player School Position
Annemarie Fisher San Diego Mesa P
Alicia Kotcher San Diego Mesa C
Isabella Casares San Diego Mesa UTL
Andrea Wright San Diego Mesa C
Alyssa Bubar Southwestern C
Alexis Gonzalez San Diego City OF
Catalina Aguilar Palomar P
Areli Moreno Desert P
Lexi Schmehr Grossmont P
Rylee Penrod Palomar IF
Carley Grant San Diego City UTL
Veronica Quirino Grossmont UTL
Alizah Jamison Grossmont OF
Brielle Tyseling Southwestern UTL



Player School Position
Natalie Avila Desert C
Sierra Marty Grossmont OF
Gabby Clippinger Grossmont OF
Taylor Riley Palomar OF
Dylana Guyon San Diego Mesa OF
Giselle Padilla Imperial Valley OF
Julissa Ledesma Mt. San Jacinto IF/P
Audrey Braun Palomar P
Kassandra Solis-Corrales San Diego Mesa IF
Zoe Majarrez San Diego City P
Antionette Robinson Palomar IF
Kiana Knoll Southwestern P
Mya Martinez Desert P
Alyssa Gonzalez San Diego City UTL
Ashley Nelson Grossmont P
Julissa Cardenas Grossmont OF
Jessica Noriega Mt. San Jacinto IF
Tiffany Borst Mt. San Jacinto IF
Elisha Smith Mayfield San Bernardino Valley OF
Gabrielle Ursuy San Bernardino Valley P
Emily Sanchez Gutierrez San Bernardino Valley P
Viviana Morales Imperial Valley  UTL
Andrea Quiroz Imperial Valley IF
Jailene Gonzalez Imperial Valley UTL
Giselle Maldonado Desert OF
Briana Alcorn Desert IF
Jaqueline Bolha Desert UTL