Walker guides Roadrunners to PCAC title

Walker guides Roadrunners to PCAC title

The College of the Desert women's golf team completed an undefeated season in Pacific Coast Athletic Conference play on Wednesday at Sun Lakes Country Club to capture the PCAC title.  Zoe Walker was named the conference Athlete-of-the-Year for winning the season-long medalist honors.

Desert has been a consistent force in the PCAC over recent years and again showed their dominance on Halloween when they spooked the rest of the field at the two-day finals in Banning.  The Roadrunners had a total of 632 over two days, winning by 89 shots over their closest competitors from Palomar. 

Walker finished up the season-long medalist competition with a four-shot lead over teammate Dagmar Urbankova.  She shot 78-80 over two days at the finals to finish with a 77.0 scoring average for the season.  Urbankova had a sensational finish to capture medalist honors for the two days at Sun Lakes by shooting 74-74 but couldn't catch Walker in the season-long competition.  Walker had back-to-back rounds of 74 to open the season at Ironwood Golf Course and Saboba Springs Golf Course and never relinquished the lead.  Joining Walker and Urbankova on the All-PCAC team from Desert was Natalie Brugler, who finished in fourth place overall with a scoring average of 81.9 for the season.

Other all-conference awards were handed out to players from Palomar College, Cuyamaca College and Mt. San Jacinto College as the top-10 from medalist play throughout the season earn all-conference recognition. In addition, the Coach-of-the-Year honors went to Erin Lind from College of the Desert.

College of the Desert will now play in the Southern California Regional Finals on Sunday and Monday at Alisal River Golf Course in Solvang, California.  The CCCAA State Championships are held at Morro Bay Golf Course on November 11-12.

Desert Palomar Cuyamaca Mt. San Jacinto
Zoe Walker Denise DeLaCruz Stephanie Ksiazek C.J. Zulueta
Dagmar Urbankova Abby Corona Serena Mena  
Natalie Brugler Maricel Nabor Jayden Hays